Tuesday, July 14, 2009

What Happened??

...to the time? Well, a lot. I've been so bad at keeping up with this blog--I guess life got in the way. Andy and I moved in early June, I went to NYC to visit my sister for her 21st, and then I've just gotten generally busy with training...I would think about my blog as I was riding along Barrington Hills during the course of those 50 miles and kick myself for not being better at posting. I've never been the dear diary type.

So, it's almost here. I'm a two weeks away. The last 12 weeks of training have been great overall. I've kept on schedule for the most part (the CES gives us what I call my training bible) and I've upped the anty in some spots. When I filled out the online form to sign up for CES, I put that my goal was to just complete the race. So I was put in a level 1 training zone. I didn't really appreciate that too much because, well, because that means I'm not as good an athlete as others and when it comes to triathlons, I don't believe that about myself. It also means that I'm not doing as much as some of the others in the group (it goes to level 3) and therefore they are getting further along with their harder training schedule. I'm too competitive to be satisfied with the "lower level" (easier) workouts. I guess I should have been more honest when I filled out the form, but I realized nothing is stopping me from doing the higher level workouts. So about 6 weeks ago I decided I'd be okay doing the L3 workouts, depending on how I felt that day. They don't vary too much, just a few more sets of intervals for the run (or more time), more minutes for the bike and swim. I still haven't exactly figured out why the training goes by time and not milage--I have some ideas but I've been meaning to ask the coaches and haven't gotten around to it yet. It partially makes sense in that they need a training that's designed for all levels, but what if I run for 2 hours and never get to 10 miles? During the race I'll be in hell, right? I guess they figure hell for 7 hours is better than hell for 3 months.


So I've been up north at Old Mission Peninsula these last two weekends and have missed out on some of the group workouts. That is not me in the photo, but it's an idea of the awesome view when biking on Old Mission Peninsula.


Some people in the group went to Benton Harbor to bike the course last weekend. I'll be going this weekend with a small group. They said the hills were more gradual than the ride we are used to doing in Barrington, where there are plenty of rolling hills. I think the Benton Harbor hills are also longer. Here's some of the group that went to Benton Harbor last week. Beautiful weather for a ride.


As I've said before, the run is the thing I worry about most. I ran a 15k race with my sister Janelle last Saturday and added about 40 minutes (approx 4 miles), making it close to 13 miles. I felt good, but I want to be faster in the race. However, it was from 8 until 10, not 1 until 3, like the half run will likely be. And there was a continuous bay breeze. I heard this course is not shady, and the heat totally takes it out of me. And I also worry about my pacing throughout--I can kick it in the bike portion, but I can't kick it as fast for 56 miles knowing I have a grueling 13 to run. And my run timing is all over the place. One mile I am at 8:45 the next I am at 10. It probably has a lot to do with the music I am listening to (which I plan to do at the half).

One cool thing we did was a triathlon June 28 at Lake Geneva. It was the Bigfoot Triathlon (had to do it for that name alone) and Andy, AJ and Adam decided to do it relay style. So we woke up at 3:30 and set out for WI that Sunday morning. The water was very choppy for LG and the wind was pretty extreme. So the swim and the bike were very challenging. The swim turned out to be more of a water jog over the last half mile. I was pooped after fighting the waves for 10 minutes, which wasn't good. But once I was out of the water I was fine, even though I felt like I was going 0 MPH in those winds! But the last 5 miles was smooth sailing and I got a lot of speed in then. The run was great--actually my favorite part! All trail running through the campground area Andy and I stayed at for our anniversary last year. We actually ran those very trails, so it turned out I was somewhat familiar with the course. I was happy to find out that I beat the boys' time--I really didn't expect to. They have not trained at all for any of their respective legs but I still thought they'd beat me since they only had that one part to worry about and the transition was a matter of passing off the chip. So that definitely helped my ego!! Here's a link to the race: http://www.bigfoottriathlon.com/ I think my time was 2:54.

Taper week is next week, which also means I have to let up on the peanut butter and chocolate milk. Damn.

I feel good--a little more toned than usual. But I swear, during some of my runs I think my god, if I am not a stick by the end of this run I am going to hurl myself into the river. And I'm never a stick. Just a very sweaty, salty pair of turbo thighs with armpit and sports bra chaffage. But those endorphins make it all okay...

No comments:

Post a Comment